This program creates an easily modifiable file for all your Website details.
It stores website Names, their URL’s, and your User names and Passwords.
Security is a key issue, because such data is highly sensitive and private.
The approach here is relatively safe. The file is given a name and extension that is non-standard, and so it will not attract the attention of any possible web attacker.
Even if a hacker did gain access to your computer the chances of them finding one unobtrusive file amongst hundreds of others is small.
If clicked on by chance, the file extension is not associated with any program – although it can of course be opened with Notepad or Wordpad. This will only display the file contents in coded form, so it will not be apparent what the data refers to.
Someone would have to be very determined to take the time to decode the contents of an unknown file – the method of encryption is not obvious, and without the program source code, it would take a lot of time for no obvious gain.
However, someone experienced in cryptography could gain access to the information, however unlikely it might be.
So as a further security measure, all files for this project could be kept in external memory such as a USB memory stick. This would limit exposure to short irregular time slots, making a hacking attempt a very low probability.
He program provides storage for up to 100 Websites for which you need to store the User names and Passwords.
You only need to remember one Key Password to gain access to all the other information. Once set, this password cannot be changed for a given file. It is encoded and stored along with the Website information. Of course, a different password can be assigned to another data set if you need more than one group of websites.
Individual website passwords can be changed as often as you wish, and you can make them as complicated as you wish, since you will not have to remember them.
Once you have accessed the file data for a website, the details can be copied and pasted to your account information whenever you wish to change it.
When you create a new Website Data file, you will be asked to choose a Key Password for that file. Once set, the data can only be accessed using this password.
Data is added one site at a time, and is stored in encrypted form when you save the file.
If you later wish to reload the data file, you will be asked to enter the Key password (so be sure to remember it). The stored data is then decrypted and displayed using a List Box containing a sorted list of Website names. The list box will show Website names, but no other details.
Clicking on any chosen website in the List Box will display it’s details in four Edit Boxes. Here you can edit the information, reload it to the website information, and save the data file when you are done.
You can delete a Website from the file, or add new ones.
If you edit the details for a site and save it again, a duplicate site name will appear temporarily in the List Box. Simply select the unwanted one and click the "Delete Selected" button to remove the outdated information.
All Website details, such as the Website name, Website URL, your User Name and Password, are entered in the appropriate edit boxes.
When a New Data file is created, the list box will be empty. For each new website, enter it’s details in the edit boxes. You may choose to do this by copying and pasting some items from the Web.
For sites that do not require a User Name or Password, you can enter one or more characters such as "." , "-" , "none" , "…" , "---" , as preferred. A validation check is made that at least one or more characters have been entered in each edit box.
When the data is correct, click the "Update site List" button. This will also activate the "Save to File and Exit" button so that the data can be saved.
When you update the site list to add a Website name to the list box, this also stores the associated data to working arrays. When you save to file, the data is encrypted from these arrays and stored in the Website File. A separate array is used for Website Name, URL, User Name and Password.
Click on any Website name in the list box to display all it’s current data in the edit boxes. This can then be edited if necessary, or copied and pasted to the Net if required.
Clicking on the "Delete Selected" button will remove all data for the currently selected website.
Clicking on the "Clear Edit Boxes" button will erase the edit box information so that it can be completely re-entered if necessary. Otherwise, just edit any edit box as required before updating the site data.
__________________________________