April 25, 2024, 12:12:30 AM

News:

IonicWind Snippit Manager 2.xx Released!  Install it on a memory stick and take it with you!  With or without IWBasic!

ActiveX

Started by Zen, December 14, 2005, 05:37:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Zen

Hello.

Ive never used activeX before but i know they can be used on websites, such as the windows update and various other things. Ive seen talk of ActiveX on here and on the IBasic forums. So not knowing much about ActiveX, if Aurora does eventually support AcitveX, will that mean we can create our own ActiveX controls or just use others?

Thanks
Lewis

Ionic Wind Support Team

Ionic Wind Support Team

Zen

Excellent. Id be quiet interested in doing some ActiveX stuff.

Ill have to do some research about them untill Aurora is ready to make them

Lewis

ThadMiller

Big issue with using ActiveX on web sites is you're then limiting clients to IE only.

Zen

Yes thats true.

Ive been making websites for a few years now and ive managed without them so i dont think ill change my ways now. It would just be for my own learning purposes.

Lewis

Steven Picard

I have dozens of professional ActiveX controls that I use in VB.  These would take years to recreate and would be highly impracticle to do so.  I am not sure if some of you think ActiveX is an Internet (IE) technology or not but ActiveX controls are absolutely useful.  If you want to check out what kind of ActiveX controls are out there you can go here and browse their on-line catalog:
http://www.componentsource.com/Catalog.asp?fl=A210&sc=CS&bc=A100~A210&ul=en

ThadMiller