May 01, 2024, 06:51:30 AM

News:

Own IWBasic 2.x ? -----> Get your free upgrade to 3.x now.........

Array parameters must be in form 'array[] as int'

Started by Steve, November 25, 2009, 03:41:56 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Steve

Coming to grips with the basics.   I like the reverse way of defining variables as I'm comfortable with that way from C++/Java way of doing things (not that I'm a C++ expert).    So early on I've decided that will be my style or way of handling that aspect.   Even passing parameters to functions I could write a sub as "function(int x, int y)".   Then came a gotcha, I couldn't write it that way for arrays and kept getting a heap of compiler error messages along the lines of an undeclared function.

Sub FunctionName(int array[]) wouldn't work but Sub FunctionName(array[] as int) does work.   

I'm wondering if this is a bug or some valid reason why it can't be implemented in the reverse way?   

Steve
Melbourne, Australia.

LarryMc

The subject has been touched on several times in the forums as well as in the help file.

In the forums search using passing and arrays

Larry
LarryMc
Larry McCaughn :)
Author of IWB+, Custom Button Designer library, Custom Chart Designer library, Snippet Manager, IWGrid control library, LM_Image control library

Steve

Quote from: Larry McCaughn on November 25, 2009, 12:49:01 PM
The subject has been touched on several times in the forums as well as in the help file.

In the forums search using passing and arrays

Larry

Unfortunately searching on passing and arrays did not lead to any clues or suggestions re - my original question.   From the help manual (User Guide - Language/Variables) it clearly explains the two ways of defining variables.   Taking that further, defining the parameters for subroutines also works either way, except for arrays.   Granted in the User Guide (Language/Subroutines) the examples cited all refer to defining parameters this way,