April 28, 2024, 08:40:52 AM

News:

Own IWBasic 2.x ? -----> Get your free upgrade to 3.x now.........

Creating a DLL file

Started by EvangelMike, February 27, 2009, 08:56:09 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

EvangelMike

Greetings! I am trying to create a DLL File. I have some experience with VBA but am totally new as regards Basic.

The book Professional Excel Development tells how to create a DLL as follows:

Open VB 6 and do the following:

1. Select ActiveX DLL Project Type.
2. Click Open, and VB6 creates a new ActiveX Project.
3. Name the project "AFirstDLLProject."
4. Name the class module CHelloWorld, and then saved the project.
5. Open the class module and add the following code:

Public Sub ShowMessage()
   MsgBox "Hello World!"
End Sub

7. Using the File Menu, Select File > Make AFirstDLLProject.dll
8. In the directory will be the file AFirstDLLProject.dll

I tried to duplicate these steps in Emergence Basic as follows:

I opened Emergence Basic and did the following:

1. Selected File > New Project.
2. Named the project "AFirstDLLProject."
3. For Project Type, I selected "Windows DLL
4. The Project Path is "C:\Program Files\EBDev\projects"
I thought the Output File would be AFirstDLLProject.dll, but it is not; instead it is
AFirstDLLProject.exe. Should I change the extension to .dll? I decided to just continue without
changing the extension.
5. I then clicked OK
6. It is not clear to me how I would create the class module CHelloWorld as in VB 6 step 4 above. So I
proceeded by selecting File > New > Emergence Source File.
7. I then added the following code to the Source File

SUB PNTHELLO()
CLASS HelloWorld
DECLARE PrintHelloWorld( )
SUB HelloWorld::PrintHelloWorld( )
PRINT "Hello World"
END SUB
END Class
HelloWorld.PrintHelloWorld( )
END SUB

But, just learning Basic, I am not sure if I have correctly created a Class. And I have no idea how to make the output file a DLL.

Thanks in advance for your help. May you have a blessed day.