April 28, 2024, 01:56:31 PM

News:

IonicWind Snippit Manager 2.xx Released!  Install it on a memory stick and take it with you!  With or without IWBasic!

scientific notation

Started by dossic, November 06, 2007, 05:21:08 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

dossic

Hi everybody!

I am new to EBASIC, and I am starting using it for converting some old programs in QuickBasic.
I have a short question: how can I print double precision number in scientific notation (e.g. 0.2345E127)?
It isd probably a silly question, I could not find anything in Help file.

Thanks from Como(Italy)

Carlo

talun

Hi Carlo, see the sample program:
..\EBDev\projects\C_library_test.eba

I hope this can help you

Ciao

Sergio

dossic

Thanks !
It was unbelievable for me moving to C functions in Basic!

Anyway, just we are in argument, I did much programming in QuickBasic and LibertyBasic, and it was easy for me converting a floating point number to a string as "it is", i.e.  a=123.456 -> str$(a)="123.456" without caring of significant figures.
This is apparently not possible with STR$ in EBASIC, but perhaps I can do it using C functions.  Do you have any suggestion about that?

Yours  Carlo

GJ

November 06, 2007, 10:32:19 AM #3 Last Edit: November 06, 2007, 10:34:07 AM by GJ
Hi Carlo,

Quote from: dossic on November 06, 2007, 06:34:28 AM
This is apparently not possible with STR$ in EBASIC, but perhaps I can do it using C functions.  Do you have any suggestion about that?

You can use SETPRECISION to do that...

'compile as console
float a
string a$,b$
int loop
'default SETPRECISION
a=123.456789
a$=STR$(a)

print "default : ",a$

setprecision 3
b$=STR$(a)

print "3 digits :",b$

for Loop=1 to 5
setprecision loop
B$=STR$(A)
print STR$(Loop)+" digits : ",b$
next loop

do:until inkey$<>""
END

Enjoy this excellent language  ;)

Gertjan

Ionic Wind Support Team