April 27, 2024, 03:53:46 PM

News:

IonicWind Snippit Manager 2.xx Released!  Install it on a memory stick and take it with you!  With or without IWBasic!

SQLite 3 or EB database library?

Started by JoaoAfonso, December 27, 2007, 04:42:24 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

JoaoAfonso

Ahoy.

I am digging databases for sometime, and worked alot with SQLite in CB. I did for sure some mistakes and that database didn't worked with the speed I would like (guess have to do with lots of persons connecting to SQLite, which is reduces much it's performance). Then I started learning more deep EB and it has it's own database library. My question is, between SQLite 3 or EB database library (SQL type), what will be the better solution for a database with many tables and entries, to be accessed and edited by many persons?

Thank you in advance.
JoÃÆ'ƒÂÃ,£o Afonso
Viriato
-----------------
Iberia MUD
www.iberiamud.com
iberiamud.com:5900

Brian

As far as I'm aware, SQLite isn't multi-user, unlike the Microsoft
MDB databases

Brian

JoaoAfonso

You saying Access databases are better and faster for multiusers? I run a phpbb forum in my server, and they say Access DB work fine but for few users at the same time, and point MySQL as the best one.
JoÃÆ'ƒÂÃ,£o Afonso
Viriato
-----------------
Iberia MUD
www.iberiamud.com

Brian

Joao,

I don't know about database speeds. One or the other will probably be quicker
at certain tasks. All I am aware of is that SQLite is not multi-user

Brian

barry

I haven't done much with SQL of any kind but I did take a course in programming and another course in optimizing SQL Server about 15 years ago for a project that I thought I would be involved in but wasn't.