IonicWind Software

IWBasic => IWB3.x Bug Reports => Topic started by: Andy on July 01, 2015, 01:26:46 AM

Title: Lowercase of Autocomplete
Post by: Andy on July 01, 2015, 01:26:46 AM
Hi,

In the Editor options, I have the following set:

1. Enable Autocomplete - ticked (enabled).
2. Keywords - AllUpperCase - selected.

When I type something like "setcontr" i get the autocomplete list coming up - all appear in lowercase.

I select setcontroltext <Enter> and it appears in uppercase - which is what I prefer.

When I type @butt - the @button is listed, but when I hit <Enter> it appears in lowercase.

This may sound "picky" but I do like my code in uppercase - it's easier for me to read.

have I missed something here?

Thanks,
Andy.
Title: Re: Lowercase of Autocomplete
Post by: LarryMc on July 01, 2015, 06:31:06 AM
technically, if it has a @ in front of it it is a constant and not a keyword.
That being said I'm treating it like a keyword so I need to look and see why I'm not picking up the caps on it.

thanks for reporting (but this puts the new update of the Chart Library of the back burner  :o)
Title: Re: Lowercase of Autocomplete
Post by: LarryMc on July 01, 2015, 11:18:27 PM
I see what the problem is and there is no quick fix.
Let's see if I can explain it.

The IDE code editor is based on the Scintilla library.
It's open source and written in C.
I found a copy that had been modified and compiled by Sapero before he disappeared that did most of what I wanted to do.
I didn't have the source code for his version.
I was able to add the rest of the things I wanted to do, external to his compiled code.
In his compiled code he hard coded it so that if a word starts with a @ it is automatically a constant color whether it really is or not a constant.
I coded my part with a list of all the constants and they should be following the color coding I assign and the caps but his hard coding is overriding my Scintilla configuration coding.

It will take LarryS and me working together to reverse engineer EVERYTHING that Sapero changed and rebuilding our version of the libraryto back the way he had it with that one override removed.

Like I said, it's not going to happen anytime soon.

Sorry
Title: Re: Lowercase of Autocomplete
Post by: Andy on July 02, 2015, 12:11:32 AM
Hi Larry,

Yes it seems a very big job for something which for me is more "cosmetic" as the autocomplete works anyway.

And it something I can live with, was just flagging it as something I had found.

Don't worry, best to get on with other more important things.

Thanks,
Andy.
:)
Title: Re: Lowercase of Autocomplete
Post by: LarryMc on July 02, 2015, 12:16:55 AM
But the fact that it still colors misspelled constant style flags as flags is not "cosmetic" and we need to correct it at some point in time.
Title: Re: Lowercase of Autocomplete
Post by: LarryMc on July 10, 2015, 01:27:00 PM
This issue with the scintilla control is what i'm currently working on.