May 03, 2024, 04:57:02 AM

News:

Own IWBasic 2.x ? -----> Get your free upgrade to 3.x now.........

Includes and commonly used values

Started by Topdecker, January 10, 2014, 07:12:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Topdecker

I started learning IWBasic by playing a little bit with files and folders.  The file directory system is a good way to learn at little bit because it is boring and predictable (and I understand how it works).  Anyhow, I encountered this follow example of how to use the attributes of a returned file name:

IF attrib & @FILE_DIRECTORY THEN PRINT filename

It produces a compiler error and will not execute - I am presuming that a lot of the commonly used variables are stored in an include file which isn't included in the examples using predefined values.  If someone could clue me in about the command and file to use, it would be greatly appreciated.

LarryMc

what's the compiler error?
It always helps to post your code so we can run it and see what you are doing.

And the line as written shouldn't need and additional include files.
LarryMc
Larry McCaughn :)
Author of IWB+, Custom Button Designer library, Custom Chart Designer library, Snippet Manager, IWGrid control library, LM_Image control library

Topdecker

I had the previous build of the executable still running behind the IDE. 

Yeah, it was a noobie error :)  But I'll be better armed when I actually run into a real problem :)

Topdecker

Still, it does lead to a question.

Is there a list for constants like @FILE_DIRECTORY?

Thanks,

LarryMc

Specifically  for @FILE_DIRECTORY
If you use the search feature of the help file for FILE_DIRECTORY it will take you to the command appendix page for the FINDNEXT command.

More generally they appear in the one or more of the commands they are associated with.
A lot are shown in Appendix B.

Ultimately, all constants that use the @ have been defined with the SETID command somewhere.