May 05, 2024, 11:01:59 PM

News:

Own IWBasic 2.x ? -----> Get your free upgrade to 3.x now.........

Passing values between forms

Started by Tom Cone Jr, October 02, 2007, 05:48:38 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Tom Cone Jr

I'm just getting started with Emergence Basic and have some questions about passing values between forms.

1) what's the recommended way to open a second form without showing it, assign values to controls in the called form, and then show the called form?  Are the sequences the same if the called form is modal?  modeless?

2) what's the recommended way to pass values from the called form back to the calling form when the user closes the called form?

3) can you point me to reference material or examples that illustrate how controls are addressed dynamically?  I'm trying to get my mind around how object addressing works in Ebasic.

Thanks.

billhsln

I am not 100% sure this is exactly what you are trying to do, but look under "Database" subject "Example of Updating Multiple Tables".  This program opens modals after loading them with data.

Hope this helps,
Bill
When all else fails, get a bigger hammer.

Ionic Wind Support Team

You initialize all controls in response to @IDINITDIALOG if you are using a dialog.

When you use the CREATEDIALOG statment you are creating a template in memory and each CONTROL statement adds a control definition so the OS knows what type of control to create, its size, location, etc.

The dialog and controls don't exist until you use DOMODAL or SHOWDIALOG.  After which Windows sends the @IDINITDIALOG message to your handler before the dialog is shown.

Paul.
Ionic Wind Support Team

Tom Cone Jr

Thanks, Bill & Paul.  I'll check the example mentioned.

I'm probably talking about something that's so simple it's hard for you to understand why I'm asking!